Sunday, March 6, 2011

Ancient Kingdoms of Sri Lanka

  • Anuradhapura
  • Pollonnaruwa
  • Dabedeniya
  • Yapahuva
  • kurunegala
  • Gampola
  • Raigama
  • Kotte
  • Sitawaka
  • Senkadagala (Kandy)
Sri Lanka has a recorded history of 2,500 years.Although there is some evidence that the island was inhabited since prehistoric times, it is believed that the advent of Vijaya, an Indian Prince, with his 700 followers in 543 B.C. laid he foundation for the island kindom.

Before the Vijaya's arrival, there lived three tribe, called "yaksha, naga and deva" in here. The Lord Buddha visit Sri lanka three times and that time those tribe people lived here. Prince Vijaya married with Princess Kuwani, who was daughter of the leader of yaksha people.

The Sinhala royal line reigned in unbroken succession for nearly 2,300 years. King Pandukabhaya who founded the city of Anuradhapura in the North-Central part of Sri Lanka was the outstanding ruler of the anient period and his city the political capital of the country for nearly 1000 years. Today there are lot of ruins of palaces, temples, hospitals and buildings of ancient Kingdom.

The most significant event in the country's history was the arrival in 307 B.C. of Arahat Mahinda, a disciple of the Buddha who brought to the island the teachings of his Master.

South Indian invasions disrupted the peace of the land from about the 1st century B.C. The northern part of the island was held by King Elara (a South Indian invador) who was defeated in battle by Prince Dutugemunu from Ruhuna. Then followed a reign of peace under a single ruler. This led to a period of great prosperity for the people. Religion and learning flourished and the development of Sinhala art and architecture reached the highest levels. Temples were built and painting, sculpture and building construction were given the highest priority by the King.

Sri Lanka suffered again at the hands of South Indian invaders. Anuradhapura was overrun and had to be abandoned. However, the Sinhala force rallied under Prince Kirti who conquered the enemy and brought peace once more to the country. He ruled at Polonnaruwa as Vijayabahu I.

There was more than hundreds of great Sinhala monarchs, like Davanampiyatissa, The gallant Dutugemunu, the Saintly Sri Sanjgabo, Gajaba, Mahasen, Dhatusena, Buddhadasa, Walagmba, the heroic Vijaya Bahu, the great Parakaramabahu, Nishshankamalla, Wimaladharmasooriya, the patriot Rajasingha, ruled Sri lanka and they brought great prosperity and glory to the country.

By reason of South Indian invasions, internal strife and economic problems, the capital shifted to other sites such as Dabadeniya,Yapahuwa, Kurunegala, Gampola, Kandy and Kotte.

In April, 1505, the advent of the Portuguese from across the seas began an epoch of 443 years of foreign domination. In 1683 the Portuguese were ousted by the Dutch who established and ruled the maritime provinces through a Governor. In 1796 A.D. the Dutch, yielded to British might and, unlike the other two European invaders, Britain succeeded in conquering the whole island and bringing it under her rule.

After that Sinhala heros fight with English men to get the freedom to sri lanka again. Kappitipola Adikaram, Puranappu, Kiwlegedara Mohottala, Gongalegoda Banda, Edirilla Rala and more heros battled against the British Rule. And Also Buddhist monk like S. Mahinda Thero, Kudapola Thero, Wariyapola Sri Sumangala Thero and others helped to the battle of freedom.

However in February 4, 1948 Sri Lanka became Indepent country.

Read more about Sri Lanka